Monday, February 16, 2009

New Car

The Cottam family has a new car! I love it. It is an automatic! And I actually like driving it. Shocker! It is a 2008 Subaru. Pictures and info soon to come...when the car is washed, it got quite a bit of salt on it from the drive from SLC to Cedar. Why we didn't take pictures of us with the new car the day that we bought it I have no idea. Really...that is a big life moment!

(That was for you Lissa...wink wink!)

Projects

I have come to conclude that sometimes I just need to finish things on my own pace. I hate it when I feel pressured to finish something that I am doing just for fun. There is way too much in life that you have to do on a schedule...and so for the fun things it is nice just to do then when you feel like doing them. I volunteered to do a quilt for my co-worker. Yes I had it for a few months...but she finally asked if someone else could finish it. I wasn't offended but I still feel a bit guilty. I guess that what I want to do for fun just kinda goes in cycles. One day I feel like sewing...the next scrapbooking...the next knitting...etc. I guess that is just Megs.


I just finished my spider for my dear friend Annette (from Indiana). Yes it took some time to finish it, but I know she doesn't really care. :)

Friday, December 19, 2008

Christmas in the Cottam house

I would just like to say I love that Kyle and I are just like two little kids...Christmas shopping at the Cottam home has been finished for some time. (since Thanksgiving) AND...we have been watching and waiting...shaking gifts, taking wild guesses (that was me) and making a couple of very accurate guesses (that was Kyle). We taunted each other, teased and randomly brought it up throughout the day. Thus it was always the topic of conversation. The question is will both of us give in?

Lets just say that we are just like kids...no patience what-so-ever...but yet, we are adults that get to choose when to open gifts! Patience didn't win out. Christmas came last Saturday...
Christmas Pictures
One of the favorite things about Christmas time is the Christmas cards...And because Kyle and I change so incredibly much, we thought (and by we I mean I) that it would be a wonderful idea to have new photos taken. Thankfully I know a photographer...(who is the best and did a wonderful job!) aka, one of my student workers named Jami! Realize that we had a time crunch, and only had a two day window. Day one: no snow. And I just had to have pretty snow pictures...not out in the yucky brown! Thankfully snow came on the night in between day one and day two. So day two we had these taken.
The second half of this story is that Kyle had the great idea to have some of them taken up at the SUU cabin...which is very picturesque...but also up the canyon=very cold! If you look closely in the cabin pictures you see small signs that show you how cold we were. Perfect example here:
I didn't think that we would be walking very far from the car...and I didn't want to get my coat wet. So I thought of the best idea! I would leave the coat in the car! Right...great idea Megs...Here is where Kyle hands me his coat, which looks great on me if I don't say so myself, being the gentleman that he is and freezes himself. I felt so bad.
Next: Please note in the next picture how dark the tips of my fingers are. That is because they were bright red!
I really wanted to have a picture of us walking out in the snow...cause if I was going to postpone the pictures because of no snow then I needed to do some in the snow! I think that they did turn out pretty cute...even though Kyle didn't want to hold my hand in them cause his hand was so cold...obviously I won that one though.
And here we are running after all the pictures were done. Yes, we were that cold. (Did I mention that we were cold?)
And the moral of this whole long story: the best pictures come in the last ten minuets. And after all the pictures that Jami took...here is the winner for the Christmas cards:

Monday, November 17, 2008

Halloween 2008

What a great time of the year! Obviously it is one of my favorites. I deck out the house, carve pumpkins, get loads of candy...and yet only had 2 sets of trick-or-treaters...but it was all well worth it!

This was my window and new wreath that I made!

This was my cool stair idea! I had to light up the stairs somehow! So I made milk carton ghost...ghosts not pumpkins!

These were my two pumpkins...trick-or-treaters and a pirate ship!

Kyle was a used car salesman...we found the awesome suit at DI for like $8! So worth it! The sad part is that that is his real tie! Lol...And the car is a transformer, bumblebee actually!